Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: Mail Server Black Listed

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Bath
    Posts
    180
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 9 Times in 6 Posts

    Default Mail Server Black Listed

    Warren

    Mail server 89.238.132.210 has been black listed and is preventing emails being sent to aol.com, btinternet.com yahoo.com, etc

    Can you get it resolved. I've got customers complaining on a bank holiday.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Orba, Spain
    Posts
    121
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts

    Default

    Yes, according to the Spam Database Lookup on http://www.dnsstuff.com the Indium mail server 89.238.132.210 is currently listed on: SORBS DNSBL, SORBS-SPAM, and SPAMCANNIBAL. It's NOT a bank holiday here in Scotland today either, so I'm gonna get a lot of moans

    Hoping Warren can identify who's caused the problem and get the server delisted soon, or change the server IP. I've submitted a ticket by the way.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    4,877
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 134 Times in 113 Posts

    Default

    Just to clarify being listed on RBLs does not mean the mail service is out of action - receiving mail servers will simply use the RBL listing status in their spam decision filters.
    Warren Ashcroft
    Red Fox UK Limited - Pioneers in Internet Technology
    http://www.redfoxuk.com
    w.ashcroft [at] redfoxuk.com

    NOTE: Forum Private Messaging should not be used to contact staff with support queries.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Bath
    Posts
    180
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 9 Times in 6 Posts

    Default

    but in many cases, emails will be prevented from being delivered if that recieving mail server is bloking emails spam flagged emails, correct?

    hmmm, that's going to be fun explaining to clients who rely on emails being delivered to make money...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    4,877
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 134 Times in 113 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by marty101 View Post
    but in many cases, emails will be prevented from being delivered if that recieving mail server is bloking emails spam flagged emails, correct?
    That is correct if the receiving mail server is configured that way, however they should bounce back to the sender letting them know delivery failed.

    Quote Originally Posted by marty101 View Post
    hmmm, that's going to be fun explaining to clients who rely on emails being delivered to make money...
    As always I must point out this is shared hosting and this is one of these things which happen in a shared hosting environment. As I always say "the best way to look at it is how important the service is for generating revenue for the company, set an appropriate budget accordingly and then invest in the best possible hosting solution".
    Warren Ashcroft
    Red Fox UK Limited - Pioneers in Internet Technology
    http://www.redfoxuk.com
    w.ashcroft [at] redfoxuk.com

    NOTE: Forum Private Messaging should not be used to contact staff with support queries.

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to Warren Ashcroft For This Useful Post:

    RFH Reseller: Mark Voss (30th August 2010)

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Bath
    Posts
    180
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 9 Times in 6 Posts

    Default

    It seems there's a particular issue with emails dynamically sent from my clients webserver. Sulpher.

  8. #7
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Orba, Spain
    Posts
    121
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ABNET View Post
    Yes, according to the Spam Database Lookup on http://www.dnsstuff.com the Indium mail server 89.238.132.210 is currently listed on: SORBS DNSBL, SORBS-SPAM, and SPAMCANNIBAL.
    Indium mail server is still listed on all 3 of those blacklists as of 2nd Sep I'm afraid. Warren, is there anything you can do to get it delisted?
    Last edited by ABNET; 2nd September 2010 at 08:44 AM. Reason: spelling

  9. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    4,877
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 134 Times in 113 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ABNET View Post
    Indium mail server is still listed on all 3 of those blacklists as of 2nd Sep I'm afraid. Warren, is there anything you can do to get it delisted?
    As far as I can see, those three don't allow delisting - only an expiry time based delisting.
    Warren Ashcroft
    Red Fox UK Limited - Pioneers in Internet Technology
    http://www.redfoxuk.com
    w.ashcroft [at] redfoxuk.com

    NOTE: Forum Private Messaging should not be used to contact staff with support queries.

  10. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Bath
    Posts
    180
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 9 Times in 6 Posts

    Default

    If the problem continues much long, I will need to get my customer moved to a different mail server, even if it does complicate matters while that propagates...

  11. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Buckinghamshire
    Posts
    605
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Default

    In my view the main (only?) problem here is the mail admin at the receiving end.
    No professional administrator would rely so heavily on blacklists that don't have adequate de-listing processes, they are just creating problems for their own users by stopping perfectly valid emails arriving.
    Whoever you are, if your emails don't arrive when they should, due to such "sloppiness" then ask the recipient to complain to their mail admins and improve their processes.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 18th July 2010, 09:42 PM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 14th June 2010, 11:03 AM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 29th October 2009, 05:15 AM
  4. Sean Connery and Cilla Black
    By Warren Ashcroft in forum Jokes and Stories
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 15th December 2005, 07:26 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •